King Catalpa

by Joshua Crane

supported by
  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Digital Download not actually readily available here, despite default setting of Bandcamp. Only selling the hard copy, by snail mail. Thanks for understanding.

    Includes unlimited streaming of King Catalpa via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      $8 USD


  • Streaming + Download

    Please enjoy the free samples & if you like, pay by Paypal ( $8 + $2 shipping) for CD-R with color eco-jacket, w/ 12 page b&w booklet. (Limited pressing of 200). Or e-mail for address to mail check to.
    Also available for sale at TurnItUp! Records in Northampton, MA. $8.
    (Full album not available for digital download.)





First new collection of songs from Northampton, MA based singer-songwriter since 2010. Includes 12 new recordings of 8 original songs, 2 covers & 2 poems set to music.

Thanks & Peace.

1. Great Gettin' Free
2. Gate Song
3. King Catalpa
4. Summer of Sophocles
5. The More Loving One
6. Antigone
7. Quaking Aspen
8. Titanic
9. Not By No Commandments
10. By The Time it Get's Dark
11. Catalpa Stomp
12. Reply


released April 1, 2014

Recorded & mixed by Jim Matus at the Old Schoolhouse. Hadley, MA.
Mastered by Dan Richardson, Up in the Basement. Northampton, MA.
Supporting musicians: Paul Kochanski, Plum Crane, Jim Matus, Maggie Shar, Norbert Belliveau, Joel Turcotte, Jason Moses, & Joshua Baum.



all rights reserved


Joshua Crane Northampton, Massachusetts

Over the last 14 years Crane has been delivering original songs with a voice that "can shock on first listen." (Ken Maiuri, His style of guitar is steeped in trad. folk & blues. Inspired by such varied artists as Joni, Elliott Smith, Rev. Gary Davis, Joshua's lyricism is a mood-space for introspection. He has opened for Richard Buckner & Califone, & self-produced 7 albums. ... more

contact / help

Contact Joshua Crane

Streaming and
Download help